How Will You Turn Off ICloud On Your Iphone

While most people use the feature all the time, you may want to turn off i Cloud on your iPhone. Doing that is pretty simple, but turning off i Cloud can have far-reaching implications for how you use your iPhone.

What iCloud Does When Turned On

The basic functions of the i Cloud are pretty well known to most people: it’s used to keep data in sync across all devices that are signed into the same i Cloud account. That means that if you add a contact, update your calendar, or do any number of other things on your iPhone, that change will be automatically applied to your other i Phones, i Pads, Macs, and other Apple devices.

But i Cloud does a lot more than that, too. You can also use it to back up data from your devices to the cloud, to use Find My iPhone to track lost or stolen devices, to upload photos to your public Photo Stream, and to share your Safari usernames and passwords across devices, among other things. Signing into i Cloud also signs you into other Apple services and feature, like Face Time, i Message, Game Center, and Siri Shortcuts, too.

Why You Might Want to Turn Off i Cloud

Those all sound like pretty important features to use with your iPhone, right? They are, but you still might want to turn them off. For instance, you might not want to back up your iPhone data to i Cloud or share your photos with the world. You might also want to prevent data from syncing from your iPhone to other devices. We don’t recommend turning off i Cloud — it has too many useful features, most importantly Find My iPhone — but there are good reasons to do it in some cases.

How to Turn Off iCloud on iPhone

screenshots to sign out of icloud on iphone
screenshot

So, now that you know what turning off i Cloud involves, just follow these steps to do it. These instructions apply to devices running iOS 10.3 or higher:

  1. Tap the Settings app to open it.

  2. Tap your name at the top of the Settings screen.

  3. Scroll to the bottom of the screen. Tap Sign Out.

  4. Enter your Apple ID when prompted and then tap Turn Off. This turns off Find My iPhone, which you have to do before you turn off i Cloud.

  5. Next, choose what data you want to keep a copy of on this iPhone. Move the slider to on/green for CalendarsContacts, Key-chainSafari, and/or Stocks.

  6. After this, tap Sign Out in the top right corner.

  7. Tap Sign Out one more time and you’ll finally be signed out of iCloud.

Remember, signing out of i Cloud also signs you out of Find My iPhone, Face Time, and i Message. You can turn on Face Time and i Message individually, in those apps, and use a phone number with them instead of your iCloud account. Find My iPhone requires i Cloud be turned on.

How to Turn Off iCloud on iPhone on iOS 10.2 or Earlier

The steps for turning off i Cloud in iOS 10.2 or earlier are a bit different:

  1. Tap Settings.

  2. Tap iCloud.

  3. Tap Sign Out.

  4. In the pop-up, tap Delete from My iPhone.

  5. Choose the data you want to keep a copy of on your iPhone.

  6. Enter your Apple ID when prompted.

  7. Tap Turn Off to disable iCloud.

How to Turn off Individual iCloud Features on iPhone

screenshot of icloud options on iphone
screenshot

What if you don’t want to turn off all of i Cloud, but just a few features? You can do that, too, by following these steps:

  1. Tap Settings.

  2. On iOS 10.3 or higher, tap your name. On iOS 10.2 or lower, skip this step.

  3. Tap iCloud.

  4. On the screen that lists all of the i Cloud features, disable the ones you don’t want to use by moving their sliders to off/white.

  5. For some features, such as Photos, you’ll need to tap the menus to reveal another screen’s worth of options. Move sliders there to off/white to disable them as well.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.